Monday 1 January 2018

So here I am again.  Sadly, today was a very wet day so it was back to the gym for a treadmill run.  Strangely, whilst I hated the gym challenges during December, I actually missed the element of surprise of each visit.  On Saturday, yesterday and today, I’ve known exactly what I would do in the gym.  During December, I knew what I would have to do, but I also knew that there would be an extra 10-15 minutes of a challenge, which would only be revealed when I got there.  I think I’m quite glad of the Raceatyourpace challenge as it will be something to think about, albeit that it’s a running challenge.

Got off to a good start, completing 8½ miles in 1 hour and 47 minutes.  I’d put the liner back in my trainers, underneath my orthotics and this seemed to help.  I had absolutely no pain (not in my knees, hips or shins) for the whole time.  BUT, it was extremely hot in the gym and I could not regulate my temperature.  My hair flopped all over my forehead and in my eyes (I now have a headband borrowed from Isabel) and my head felt as though it was about to burst with the heat.  It reminded me of a fellow runner who posted about wearing the wrong sort of cap in the heat of the summer and thinking she was about to die.  Luckily, Andrew had gone with me to the gym and was able to cool my flannel with water from the dispenser so I could put it on my head, over my face, down my arms and around my neck and body.  He saw my purple face and told me I needed to be careful.

The first 3 miles were the hardest, although I was comfortable.  Psychologically they were difficult and then it got easier.  I stopped after every mile to take on fluid and use my lovely cool flannel.  Not everyone’s cup of tea, but I watched and listened to the New Year’s Day concert from Vienna.  With my head about to explode, the last thing I needed was thudding music.  This classical music had a good speed and pace to it, but was calming.  It was lively and colourful but gentle with the dance routines.  Exactly what I needed and I could not have picked a better time to run.  I do prefer running outside for a long run but needs must and I guess it’s good to vary what I do.  Funny though, when I run outside, I think I run fairly consistently but I don’t.  In the gym, unless I physically adjust the speed, or vary the length of time I stop at each mile, the times should be consistent.  I did adjust the speed down gradually, from 7.5km per hour to 7.2km per hour.  I got into my stride really quickly and just got on with it.  Split times were ok too, especially as I’d stopped briefly at the end of each mile: 11’23”, 11’43”, 12’00”, 12’19”, 12’31”, 12’47”, 13’52” 12’27” and 7’20”. And in terms of Raceatyourpace, I had 8½ miles in the bag on Day 1.

Here are the action shots.  Not at all pretty but then, I had been running for an hour at that point.

01.01.18.png

Tomorrow is physio with Rob first thing in the morning.  I have another list of questions to ask him, especially as my shin discomfort reappeared in the evening.  What on earth is all that about?????